"You So Black" is out now! Author interview with Theresa tha S.O.N.G.B.I.R.D.!



WoW Blog

Ramadan Mubarak!

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

Well it will be in 5 days Ramadan begins April 1 and will end on May 1. Ramadan is a holy month celebrated by Muslims all over the world, and it is believed to be the month in which the Qur'an was revealed to the prophet Muhammed. Fun fact: Black Muslims make up about 20% of American Muslims! Learn more by visiting our Bookshop list. There we have books for all ages, from early reader up to young adult.      Ramadan Crafts! Ramadan crafts from Sweet Fajr 30 Days of Ramadan crafts from Karima's Crafts  Teacher/Parent support for Ramadan...

Read more →


The Upper World | Femi Fadugba in conversation with Dhonielle Clayton and Tochi Onyebuchi

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba  Soon to be a major Netflix movie starring Oscar winner Daniel Kaluuya! (Get Out, Black Panther, Judas and the Black Messiah)  If you had the chance to change your future, would you take it? Perfect for fans of Neal Shusterman and Jason Reynolds, this powerhouse, mind-bending YA debut follows two teens, a generation apart, whose fates collide across time—and outside of it.  Today... During arguably the worst week of Esso’s life, an accident knocks him into an incredible world—a place beyond space or time, where he can see glimpses of the past and future....

Read more →


Black Girls Unbossed

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

Join us as we talk with author, speaker, youth advocate and ordained Baptist minister Khristi Lauren Adams! * Young Black leaders have always been at the forefront of the fight for justice, freedom, and equity. And Black girls today are stepping up and leading in bold, creative ways. In a world overrun by power and greed, now is the time to look to Black girls for lessons in resilience, leadership, tenacity, spirit, and empathy. * * From Khristi Lauren Adams, author of the celebrated "Parable of the Brown Girl", comes "Black Girls Unbossed", which introduces readers to young Black girls...

Read more →


Genesis Be Book Signing / Meet & Greet

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

Join us for the celebration of the debut children's book by Biloxi native and multi-disciplinary artist Genesis Be! You know her from her national advocacy to change the MS State Flag and her organization Strive Till I Rise, which focuses on empowering youth through art. Her work has been featured in The New York Times, The Washington Post, VICE and more. Now she's back home and we're so excited to have her  The Book Signing/Meet and Greet will be held at WoW Book and Toy Store, located at 1520 29th Ave, Suite 3, Gulfport MS 39501 on Saturday, February 19,...

Read more →


Celebrate Black Love

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

Black heroines shouldn’t exist solely on the pages of stories to fight racism. These bestselling and award-winning authors will discuss what Black Love means to them, why love is so transformative, and why it is important to center love in their stories. Select attendees will win an exclusive #BlackLove sticker! OUR AMAZING AUTHOR PANELISTS INCLUDE: J.Elle, New York Times bestselling author of the Wings of Ebony duology, including the masterful finale Ashes of Gold. Kalynn Bayron, bestselling author of Cinderella is Dead and This Poison Heart, and her anticipated summer release This Wicked Fate. Alechia Dow, author of The Sound of Stars and the Indie Next Kids Pick winning The Kindred. Elise Bryant, bestselling...

Read more →