Homeschoolers will love this list 🖤📚



WoW Blog

Summer reading tips for parents

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

✹ Hear me out parents... I know as a parent I dreaded "summer reading". Like y'all, I did not want to nag my kid all summer to read a bunch of stodgy, old books. But trust me, summer reading does not have to be a chore! Here are some great tips to help us all out.✹ Build it into the schedule We humans are much more successful when we make a specific goal. It's one thing to say to your child, you need to read this summer. But it's quite another thing to say to your child, read for 30 minutes every day after...

Read more →


Indie bookstores are having their biggest party of the year this Saturday

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

Wonders of the World Book and Toy Store in Gulfport is celebrating Independent Bookstore Day this Saturday and they’re inviting the entire Gulf Coast! WoW Book and Toy Store is the Mississippi Gulf Coast’s only multicultural children’s bookstore and they are hosting their first Independent Bookstore Day on Saturday April 30, 2022 from 1p to 5p at their location at 1520 29th Ave, Suite 3, Gulfport MS 39501. 〰️ Independent Bookstore Day (IBD) is a celebration of books, readers, and indie bookselling that started in California in 2014. IBD is a one-day national party that takes place at indie bookstores...

Read more →


Nothing Burns as Bright as You is a love story for a new generation

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

If you love love, this book is for you.Like truly love love. The idea of love, and all the things that come with loving someone.Because although this book is a romance novel for young adults, this is not some Disney, saccharine-filled love story. Not by far.The type of love written about in Nothing Burns as Bright as You is that brown liquor type of love.The kind of love that burns so good, but feels so bad.The kind of love that will have you crying to your mama like a little baby.The kind of love that swallows you whole and spits you out.The kind of love...

Read more →


Ramadan Mubarak!

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

Well it will be in 5 days Ramadan begins April 1 and will end on May 1. Ramadan is a holy month celebrated by Muslims all over the world, and it is believed to be the month in which the Qur'an was revealed to the prophet Muhammed. Fun fact: Black Muslims make up about 20% of American Muslims! Learn more by visiting our Bookshop list. There we have books for all ages, from early reader up to young adult.      Ramadan Crafts! Ramadan crafts from Sweet Fajr 30 Days of Ramadan crafts from Karima's Crafts  Teacher/Parent support for Ramadan...

Read more →


The Upper World | Femi Fadugba in conversation with Dhonielle Clayton and Tochi Onyebuchi

Posted by Tonisha Kimble on

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba  Soon to be a major Netflix movie starring Oscar winner Daniel Kaluuya! (Get Out, Black Panther, Judas and the Black Messiah)  If you had the chance to change your future, would you take it? Perfect for fans of Neal Shusterman and Jason Reynolds, this powerhouse, mind-bending YA debut follows two teens, a generation apart, whose fates collide across time—and outside of it.  Today... During arguably the worst week of Esso’s life, an accident knocks him into an incredible world—a place beyond space or time, where he can see glimpses of the past and future....

Read more →